Anne With an “E” Netflix’s Series Adaptation Review

  • Rating: 5/5
  • Release Date: 05/12/2017
  • Networks: Netflix and CBC
  • Adapted from the books Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • Genre: Historical Fiction, Coming of Age
  • Themes: Prejudice, Friendship, Family, Discrimination, Love

Overview

Anne with an “e”  can’t stop day dreaming, talking and, certainly, can’t stop telling stories.

giphy

Anne Shirley is an orphan from the 19th century, mistakenly adopted by the Cuthbert siblings, for they wanted a boy to help work the Green Gables farm. However, after getting to know her and some details of her dark past, they decide to keep her and raise her as their own. Even as they don’t have any experience with raising a child and she constantly gets herself into trouble. Moreover, as they continue to spend more time with her, they learn many things about life, family, friendship and love.

 

Related image

Review

I thought this story was heart warming and beautiful. I was engulfed in it from the very first episode to the last. And ever since, I’ve tried to convince all my friends to give it a try.

Image result for anne with an e

The aspect I enjoyed the most was the amount of nostalgia I felt while watching every single episode.

It made me remember my first best friend and in how much trouble we would get into. Or how much I used to fight with my school crushes, which would gain me a scolding from the teachers. And how some girls in the classroom would want to break me and my friend apart because they didn’t like one or the other, which at the time felt like the end of the world.

Anne-12

Consequently, you should watch Anne with an “E” if you are willing to embark on a coming-of-age journey of self discovery and love. Also, if you want to see the daily occurrences of a teenage girl who doesn’t have any experience having a social life and whose ideologies and experiences are very different to those of other girls her age in the 19th century.

You should watch this TV show if you want to laugh, seeing the different situations Anne gets herself into, but also cry when you see how much she has suffered and continues to at times.

You should specially watch it if you want to feel some nostalgia, by remembering what it was like to be a child and be innocent.

giphy (1)

Moreover, I think we all have something to learn from Anne and her experiences, which is something I appreciate. Since it’s often difficult to find something worth taking out of the contents of a TV show. I will definitely and absolutely continue on with the series if Netflix decides to renew it for a second season.

 

(*Disclaimer: I don’t own any of the pictures or gifs used in this post)

 

Leave a Reply

