The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski Book Review (non-spoiler)

Rating: 5/5

Publication Date: 2014

A rich girl buys a slave. Then falls in love with him. Then the revolution starts, and her world flips.

In  my opinion, Kestrel was a fucking bad ass.

Image result for badass girl gif

She isn’t your typical (I’m going to do whatever the fuck I want because I had an impulse even though everyone told me not to because I might get others or myself killed) type of character (Clary Fray).

She’s the opposite.

Kestrel is calculating, mature and way too clever. She’s a strategist and a worthy and dangerous opponent that you wouldn’t want to mess with.

Therefore, as far as female YA characters go, this one is one of the strongest I’ve found.

Image result for badass girl gif

Some themes that this novel has are: politics, abuse of  power, slavery and war. But, the prominent one is romance. Although it does have a strong plot, the story falls on the two main characters developing feelings for each other.

However, this was done right.

It wasn’t overly dramatic or cheesy. The characters knew that what they felt might prejudice them in the worst way, so they didn’t act on it. They weren’t stupid. They actually used their heads for thinking and not their crutches. This, to me, was very refreshing.

Also, they had priorities and didn’t spend every waking moment thinking or describing each other’s hotness. This, was also, very refreshing.

But, to be honest, the male protagonist, Arin, wasn’t that interesting.  He was quite generic and his actions sometimes didn’t match his background history, his intentions or reputation.

On the other hand, I’m curious to see what becomes of him and Kestrel in the next installment. Because their story ended in a very interesting note.

Overall, I loved Kestrel and I want to continue the series.

 

Leave a Reply

