Posted in Book Review, Contemporary, Fiction, Y.A., Young Adult

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli Book Review (Non-Spoiler)

Raiting: 4.5/5

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publishing Date: 2015

Genre: Y.A Contemporary Romance 

 *I, with a dumb smile on my face, get to page 303*

“Awww, this is so fucking cute. I want more”

*Me turning the page and encountering the acknowledgments section. Blood drains from face, lips turn pale and eyes go red. Then furiously turn the page back again and then turn it again and the acknowledgment’s page is still there*

“Noooooo!!!! Why is this book over?!”

Why, seriously why did this book have to end? Because now I want  need more.

The first thing that hooked me from the beginning of the story was the writing style. Becky Albertalli has one of the most addictive and easy to read ways of writing. Also, her humor and the way she used for dealing with homosexuality made this book such a quick and fun journey for me.

The second thing that I enjoyed the most was the mystery that took place from the very beginning and made it such a page turner for me. I thought this was the most exiting part and why I read it at such a quick pace.

This gave me all the FEELS and the end game was totally WORTH IT!

giphy.gif

Furthermore, I’m glad to say that I loved the main character, of course, because he was so quirky and funny, and I LOVED he’s attitude towards the situation he was put through and towards everything else in his life. Also, he was surprisingly confident and sure about his sexuality and how he wanted to deal with it.

I also really enjoyed the side characters. I thought the friendships and relationships between them were pretty solid, real and beautiful. It was one of the most heartwarming aspects of the book aside from the romance.

My favorite character aside from Simon was his best friend Leah. I loved her so much to the point that I would like to start writing fanfiction about her.

Although to be honest, I would very much enjoy if the author wrote a companion novel or at least a novella all about her. Because she is one of the coolest characters I’ve read so far in a contemporary YA romance. I mean, she likes anime, fanfiction, Hary Potter, Yaoi and she’s so shy and angsty  that I think it would be so much fun reading a story exclusively about her.

And last but not least the thing that I enjoyed, loved and went crazy about the most was the romance. In my opinion it was perfection. It made me fall in love as well.

I shipped the canon so much, it was crazy.

However, the only thing that made me sad about this book is that I wished it was longer. I want to know what happened after and I just want more of the romance and the friendship and I just want more FEELS.

But other than that I loved it and I highly recommend it.

 

Leave a comment