Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern Book Review (non-spoiler)

Rating: 4/5

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publishing Date: 2014

Genre: Y.A Contemporary Romance

As far as young adult contemporary novels go, this is one of the best I’ve read so far.

I, by having two siblings with physical conditions similar to those of Amy, could relate in some of the points the author tried to make.

First, most people that say “hi” or stop by to talk to you for a few seconds or assist you because you depend on their help, aren’t really your friends. Secondly, it is true that kids feel reluctant to make friends with you because you are always in the company of an adult. Lastly, “normal” people can have issues, limitations and insecurities worse than those people that are actually diagnosed with a condition.

This book not only gave me a lesson from the perspective of two struggling teenagers on what it feels like to have physical or mental limitations, but it showed me more ways on how we all limit ourselves in one way or another. What can happen if we don’t confront our fears and say what we mean when we have feelings worth showing. Why we hide behind our insecurities and what it means to love someone for selfless reasons.

Love, friendship, fears, expectations, family, struggles, life,  insecurities, finding yourself, breaking out of your comfort zone, taking chances, growing up. All of this themes were portrayed wonderfully in this coming of age story by the  perspectives of these two socially awkward misfits.

What really stood up for me was how the main character even though she had Cerebral Palsy and had so many physical limitations managed to stay strong and positive. Even more than those around her that didn’t have anything.

I liked how two people with entirely different conditions and personalities managed to complete and change each other in ways that they never imagined.

The voice of the narrator was one of the best features of the books, it flowed from one perspective to another without being confusing at all. Once I started reading I couldn’t stop, and when I did I just thought about going back and finish it.

On the other hand, towards the second half of the book it went from light and fluffy to serious and sad. For me it took an unexpected turn that made me afraid of where this book was heading. Later on the book, I understood why it had to happen, but still, it made me have mixed feelings about it.

Either way, that wasn’t enough for me to dislike this book and it left me wanting to explore more about Cerebral Palsy and OCD.

Overall, I thought it was a lighthearted, interesting contemporary romance. One which teaches you important lessons not only about this conditions but on life in general and I highly recommend it.

Similar books: Eleanor and Park, The Fault in Our Stars, Golden Boy

 

Leave a Reply

