Deadpool Movie Review (non-spoiler)

deadpool-movie-poster-20161

Rating: R
Director: Tom Miller
Genre: Action, Comedy

What a ride was this piece of freaking awesomeness and thank goodness that the world is not ending in this one.

Before you read this review I want you to know that I don’t care much for gore or violence. However, if it’s well put together and it looks more fun than disgusting then I’m all in for it. Which was exactly what happened here.

I thought the comedy aspects of the movie were flawless. I laughed so hard, from the epic intro to the after the credits scene, because I really appreciated Wade’s dark and cynical type of humor, which might not be everybody’s cup of tea.

One of the things that really made it for me were the pop culture references and jokes, which ranged from the Green Lantern suit to Deadpool having sucked Wolverine’s _____ to get his own movie.

Also, the side characters added so much flavor to the story. Deadpool and his team in this movie, Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead (which I thought looked so cool, and I will get angry if she doesn’t show up in the next Deadpool or any other X men movies whatsoever) had an all over the place dynamic, for they clashed in ideals but also fought very well together. Wade’s world’s worse best friend ever and the sketchy blind old lady were hilarious. And the freaking taxi driver was my favorite character, he was the best comic relief I’ve seen in a Marvel movie.

deadpool-trailer-negasonic-teenage-warhead

That being said, I thought it was just a damn funny movie.

Nonetheless, I should mention that this is not a superhero saves the world kind of movie.  Deadpool is not a hero and he’s not attempting to become one anytime soon. Therefore, his decisions are neither morally acceptable nor noble. (He’s an antihero)

Also, I don’t believe you need to watch the X-men or Wolverine movies to understand this one, if you haven’t watched them before, because although they were referenced , they are not crucial to the plot of this story.

One of the things that I really enjoyed was how the movie wasn’t trying to be serious or overly dramatic. The world wasn’t going to explode, the bad guys weren’t trying to eliminate an entire race and the main character didn’t care for relieving the world of evil.

Warnings: it is rated R and it has graphic violence and an explicit sex sequence. However, the sex and the violence were no more explicit than those from A Game of Thrones or any other HBO programming. Also, it isn’t as if there was sex throughout the entire movie, there is only one sex sequence, however it is a long sex sequence so be careful with whom you’ll watch it with.

*Disclaimer: I don’t own the rights to the pictures used in this review and I don’t know anything about the comics, so if I messed up saying something wrong please let me know and I will fix it.*

Leave a Reply

