The Diesreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart Book Review

Rating: 3/5 stars
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Published: March 25, 2008

 Although I thought this book was fun and meaningful, I found the writing style to be annoying and pretentious.

One of the reasons why I thought that, is because kids between the ages of 15 to 17 don’t talk like the characters in this book; I thought they were too intellectual and sharp-witted for their age. Therefore, I couldn’t relate to any of them. Also, the constant usage of fancy words in almost each paragraph (so it would seem more intelligent?)  almost gave me a head ache and made me put the book down, forever. Moreover, the author also used two to three pages in the book for info-dumping every time she wanted to explain something, which made me lose interest and  want to skip ahead.

However, even though I didn’t like it, I understood why the author wrote the characters the way she did. They had to seem intelligent and capable, because they were rich and well educated. They were attending one of the best and most expensive academies in the U.S., and these are kids that will go to Yale and Harvard and will become bosses and presidents after all.

Also, everything that Frankie went through (and couldn’t relate to either) in the story was an allegory for growing up, discovering and accepting yourself, and learning how to be a woman in a man’s world . Something that is important and very relevant for a younger female audience.

Therefore, even though it was a hard book to get into,  I found it entertaining and interesting enough to finish it.

That being said, I believe this book is aimed for a young female audience and I definitely recommend it, mostly because the points that the author makes, especially the feminist ones, are interesting and worth looking into.

 

Leave a Reply

