NaNoWriMo Prep Week

So, we’re just a week away from starting National Novel Writing Month, one of the most anticipated events for most aspiring writers in the world. We, from the 1st to the 30th of November, hide in our cozy little rooms, stop any social interaction with the human world and just write a draft of 50,000 words.

Why do we do this?

We do this to take that story that has been drifting in our consciousness and place it on paper. To bring those characters to life and make them move and interact with one another. To get motivated and write that book that we’ve always wanted to write but haven’t yet, for some reason or another. We do this to push ourselves and just START.

One of the reasons why I participate, is to fetch those flashes of scenes and glimpses of characters from inside my head and develop them into something concrete.For getting in the habit of finishing a story; that reason comes from the fact that I own files upon files of Word Documents of unfinished ones. I want to get rid of the lack of discipline that keeps me from taking my stories to their denouement.

Lastly, I just want to practice, because even though it’s only a rough draft in 30 days,  I will be trying hard to find my voice and what I feel comfortable with. I will be crafting a plot, developing dynamic characters and most importantly is that I’ll be trying to finish.

If you are like me and you love writing, you’ll take advantage of this event and push yourself to write down that story. Because even if your novel is not good at all when the month is finished, you can still edit it later and then turn it into your own literary masterpiece and then share it with the world. Because you don’t know how many people are waiting to read and then love what you have to offer.

So, just go to the website, sign up and participate.

http://nanowrimo.org/

Also, you can add me as a writing buddy on my old account:

http://nanowrimo.org/participants/dulcekiwi

Leave a Reply

